Removing Products

 

Over time, some products in your store can become outdated or altogether unavailable for restocks. If these products still appear for sale, they can clutter your online storefronts and frustrate your customers. In this article, we'll cover the different ways to solve this issue, with step-by-step instructions for each.

 

In this article:

 

Understanding Your Options for Product Removal

Archiving is a way for you to remove products from being on sale until the next potential restock. Not only will this remove products from your store, but you will also have the option to save your current waitlist while preventing anyone else from joining it for the time being.

If for some reason you truly want to delete a product, this option is also available to you. Deleting a product will permanently delete any images, data, and records associated with it, so we recommend using this option sparingly. Otherwise, waitlists, order history, and reporting can be negatively impacted.

 

Unpublishing Products is also an option if you want to remove the product from being on sale on a specific sales channel, such as your Webstore, Mobile App, or Product List.

 

Archiving Products

To archive a product, you will first need to message chat support and ask them if they can enable the Inventory Archival feature. Once they confirm this is enabled, you can proceed to the next steps.

1. Visit the Products tab.

2. Find the product you want to archive. Click the 3 dots across from it and select Inventory from the drop-down menu. This will redirect you to the Edit Inventory page.

3. To archive all variants for a product:
Using the scroll bar at the bottom of the page, scroll to the left to find the Manage column. Click the pencil beneath it, and select Archive Variant.

To archive individual variants for a product:
Using the scroll bar at the bottom of the page, scroll to the left to find the Manage column. Click the 3 dots across from the specified variant, and select Archive Variant.

4. A popup will ask you if you want to "Clear waitlist for this variant." This checkbox is checked by default, but you can uncheck it to keep the current waitlist.

Unchecking the box will allow you to "pause" the ability to join the waitlist for the selected variant(s) while saving the existing waitlist. We recommend using this option for any styles you think will come back into demand at a later date.

5. Click Confirm to save changes.

 

Unpublishing Products

You can unpublish products from your Webstore, Mobile App, or Product List. Here's how.

1. Visit the Products tab.

2. Select one or more products you want to unpublish. Check the check boxes next to each.

3. Click the green bulk action menu to view your options.
mceclip0.png

Click any one of these to perform the desired action:

Unpublish Products will remove the selected product(s) from your CommentSold Webstore.

Remove from App will remove the selected product(s) from your mobile app.

Remove from Product List will remove the selected product(s) from the product list section of the customer account page.

4. A popup will appear to verify you want to take this action. Click Confirm to save changes.

Your products are now successfully unpublished!

 

Deleting Products

As a friendly reminder, we do not recommend deleting products from inventory unless necessary. This is due to the negative impact it can have on waitlists, order history, and reporting. If you don't mind the risk, you can follow these steps to permanently delete products from CommentSold.

 

1. Visit the Products tab.

2. Find the product you want to delete, and click the 3 dots across from it under "Options".

3. From the drop-down menu, click Remove.

4. A pop-up will ask if you are sure. To continue, click Delete Record.

The product and all of its variants are now deleted from your inventory.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful